New Album by Andy Summers, Harmonics of the Night, to be Released October 15

Andy Summers Harmonics of the Night Album Cover

Harmonics of the Night is the third in what I’ve conceived of as a trilogy of recordings. Following on from ‘Metal Dog’ and ‘Triboluminescence’.

The music for Harmonics of the Night came from a real-life situation, which was the occasion of a retrospective exhibition of my photography at the Pavilion Populaire in Montpellier.

I was able to visit the museum in advance of the opening and decided this time (instead of the usual unsuitable music being played by the whatever gallery!) that I must make a music installation to accompany the photography on the wall, a piece that could be looped and thus provide a continual musical counterpoint to the visual.

I made a twenty-minute single guitar improvisation. A Certain Strangeness: This piece put a certain approach in my head and pointed me in the direction of eleven more tracks. These pieces which vary from minimalist approaches to African influenced dance pieces and are what I consider the sonic parallels to the photography.

– Andy Summers

The album will be released by Flickering Shadow on October 15th.

Keep your eyes peeled!


* A Certain Strangeness
* City Of Crocodiles
* Aeromancer
* Chronosthesia
* Harmonics Of The Night
* Mirror In The Dirt
* Prairie
* Fantoccini
* Aphelion
* Spell
* Inamorata
* Strange Return

Visit Cargo Records to order your copy now or visit Amazon. This album will also be available digitally on all streaming platforms.